Epic Quest: Scepter of the Shifting Sands, Green and Red Dragon Chain   Leave a comment

The second part of the scepter I decided to pick up was the part held by the Green Dragonflight, or to be more specific, Eranikus.

Now Eranikus can be found in Sunken Temple. If you’ve run the instance enough, and if you have picked up the quest item he drops, you know he’s become corrupted by the old Gods and therefore had to be killed. However if you take his Essence you can deliver it to his brother (after which the chain stops). Apparently he was however also the guardian of 1/4th of the Scepter of the Shifting Sands.
I travelled to the Sunken Temple and cleared everything up to Eranikus. Before you engage him however, an image of Malfurion Stormrage appears telling you that the only way to obtain the Scepter Shard is to make Eranikus manifest in the normal world (he’s trapped in the Emerald Dream). To start the endeavour to get Eranikus manifested Malfurion sent me to Darnassus. Which was quite a pain seeing as I’m A: Horde and B: Ofcourse there happened to be level 80 alliance there all to willing to gank me. I got away (luckily) and found the agent, a Forest Wisp right outside Darnassus on the Teldrassil side of the city. The Wips then told me that Tyrande has been notified of Malfurion’s plan and sends me to Moonglade.

When you get to Moonglade, you get to talk to keeper Remulos, one of the Sons of Cenarius. He sends you to get parts of the Nightmare’s corruption, something he needs to summon Eranikus to the living realm. You have to pick those parts, 4 of them in total, up near the portals into the Emerald Dream which are scattered over Azeroth. I decided to go to the portals in Ashenvale and Feralas first since I was on Kalimdor anyway and read that they increased the droprate of the figments to 100% from the little elite dragonkins that patrol the areas there. So I hopped on some mounts and flightpaths and killed some “portal trash” at Ashenvale, Feralas and Hinterlands. The last step was Duskwood and surprise! Ysondre (the World dragon boss) was walking around there. I asked my boyfriend to help me kill her, we eventually did while getting sleeped all the time (damn clouds) and I even got a nice quest item I’ll tell you about later. Anyway at the Duskwood portal I had to kill an elite satyr. The first time my boyfriend helped, he got mind controlled and killed me (like usual) so the second time I just soloed the satyr. Don’t be fooled, he had 323k HP and put up a hell of a fight. After that I had all four fragments and made my way back to Moonglade to hand them in to keeper Remulos.

Back in Moonglade I asked my boyfriend and a friend of mine to help me out with the outdoor raid that wouls tart as soon as you picked up the quest you got after delivering the Nightmare Corruption fragments. I read stories about it being a hassle but with 3 people the quest was a piece of pie. Keeper Remulos summons Eranikus at the lake and then runs to a house in Nighthaven. First a shitload of shades spawned that got stronger everytime they killed a player or an NPC. I read stories about people being overrun but we had no problems dealing with them (although an unfortunate Alliance druid got owned :P). After we’d killed enough shades, Eranikus landed (he was flying before) and we engaged him and nuked him down to about 20%. We saw Tyrande yelling the whole time but she was bugged because she didn’t appear! Anyway at 20% the fight stops, Eranikus is cleansed and chats a bit with keeper Remulos. At the end he entrusts his shard to keeper Remulos and returns to the Emerald Dream to aid Malfurion Stormrage and Ysera fight against the Nightmare. You have to get back to the place where Remulos stands, get your shard and then you’re done with the Green Dragon Chain!

***

Originally I wanted to give the Red Dragon Chain a post of it’s own, but because it’s so short I included it here. I did the Red Dragon Chain together with the Draconic for Dummies part from the Blue Dragon Chain. During that run I also acquired enough Elementium Ingots to not have to go to BWL again. Anyway here we go.

For the Red Dragon Chain you are sent to Blackwing Lair. More specifically to Vaelastraz who is being corrupted by Nefarian. Before you engage Vaelastraz I talked to him and picked up the quest for the scepter shard which was infact quite easy. Kill Nefarian within 5 hours of killing Vaelastraz. So we did and I got my Scepter Shard!

Posted November 10, 2010 by Kassandri in Achievements, Classes, Quests, Warrior

Leave a Reply

