Epic Quest: Scepter of the Shifting Sands pt. 1   Leave a comment

So… I have decided to start one of the longest, most epic questchains Azeroth can give a player thus far. And one that is going to be removed when the Cataclysm hits our beautiful lands: The Scepter of the Shifting Sands questchain.

When I started the prequests I was already on 33.8/36k hated due to running AQ 40 a couple of times, once a full clear and others for mounts (I have all 4 colours). Yesterday I picked up the second quest (I had done the first, find Anachronos near the Caverns of Time) and hopped to Blackwing Lair to get the head of Broodlord Lashlayer. We cleared the entire instance (not a single Elementium Ore dropped :<) and I got some money, and ofcourse my head. Today I handed the quest in and got the repeatable quest to obtain 200 Silithid Fragments for 500 rep per turnin. After some quick calculations I figured I had to get 2400 fragments to become neutral, and for a person that detests grinding I went looking for other options.
What I found was that the trash mobs (Anubisath Sentinels and Obsidian Overseers) give 100 rep each when killed untill you hit Neutral or Friendly. So I took my boyfriend to AQ4 on his paladin (he still wanted the red and the yellow mount) and after about 8 runs killing the first 11 trashmobs I hit neutral with Brood of Nozdormu. Luckily enough my boyfriend got both his mounts so he was a happy camper aswell.

After hitting neutral I got send back to Anachronos who wanted me to go to the gates of AQ, look for a tiny red crystal (with a huge yellow question mark floating above it) and learn the secrets of the past. I saw how the gates of AQ were closed and that three dragons sacrificied themselves doing so. I also saw that Fandral Staghelm wanted nothing to do with the dragons anymore and that Anachronos the Ancient (aka his past self) picked up the fragments of the scepter that Fandral Staghelm destroyed. After that you get sent back to Anachronos at the Caverns of Time again and he hints that he has 1/4 of the scepter and that the other three parts are to be looked for at Eranikus (The ghost in Sunken Temple), Vaelastraz (the red dragon in Blackwing Lair) and Azuregos (the blue dragon walking around in Aszhara).

And that’s actually where the real hard part starts. On the next few days I’ll post the Red dragon chain, the Blue dragon chain and the Green dragon chain in obtaining the Scepter.
For all the people that want to do this quest also before it disappears. If you want to farm Brood of Nozdormu rep, DO NOT DO THE REPEATABLE ONLY. The best way to get rep is to get a friend, clear the trash before the first boss (which is 11 mobs x 100 rep = 1.1k rep) and keep resetting untill you’re locked out of the instance. Inbetween lockouts do the repeatable quest. You’ll get to neutral fastest this way.

Posted November 2, 2010 by Kassandri in Achievements, Classes, Quests, Warrior

Leave a Reply

