The Arduous Professions Journey   Leave a comment

Recently I’ve taken it upon myself to max out multiple professions, spread across multiple chars, before Cataclysm hits. The number one reason I’m doing this is simply because of the money. I have very few usefull professions at the moment and basicly am much too lazy to grind. I currently have Mining/Blacksmithing on my warrior (maxed), Leatherworking/Skinning on my hunter (maxed), Alchemy/Herbalism on my paladin (maxed), Tailoring/Jewelcrafting on my retired priest (maxed) and Mining (maxed)/Engineering (around 430) on my Rogue on Silvermoon. Due to me seeing Vashj Horde as main server/side still you can see that the professions I have there are either Gathering professions (Mining, Skinning, Herbalism), Gear Professions (Blacksmithing, Leatherworking) and one Raid Profession (being Alchemy). For money making these Professions aren’t suited best with the current market. The big sellers are (and have been for a while) Enchanting and Jewelcrafting and (to an extent) Inscription.
Now I’ve always wanted an Enchanting char simply because I never had one and want to make loads of money with it! My first choice for Enchanting went to my Shaman which unfortunately I’ve stopped leveling for a while (was kinda sick of leveling ..) and she’s stuck at 222 at the moment. I’ve also chosen to get Inscription on her which I’ve been leveling for 2 days and am as far as 185. The Herbs I farm myself on my paladin.
My second choice for Enchanting was my mage, simply because it sounds magey and as mage it’s easier to farm mats needed for enchanting, currently I’m stuck on 278 enchanting on her and am running Stratholme for Runecloths so I can let my BF make Runecloth Belts for me on his warlock, so that I can Disenchant them into Dream Dusts. I need about 5 Dusts per skillup point now so I’m in a tough spot as far as leveling the profession goes.

I also hope to level Engineering to 450 on my rogue altho I’m prioritizing the Enchanting and Inscription on my mage and shaman. I also picked up Jewelcrafting on my mage, but I just started out (currently at 50) and I plan to finish Enchanting before I dive into a next profession.

I have to say though that farming materials all day is taking it’s toll a bit. On the one side I don’t mind it at all seeing as it’s something different from raiding, PvPing and grinding for achievements. I make some nice money with it, putting all the glyphs I make on the AH aswell as any excess enchanting mats, and I love the way how enchanting mats look. My enchanting bag is so nice and bright and colorful! On the other side running an instance completely for Mageweave/Runecloth and running around in circles in Stranglethorn Vale all day kind of makes me completely zone out. It’s gone as bad as that I zone out in the middle of a conversation with someone, just tunnelvisioning onto herbs and cloths and not noticing anything else. This for me feels bad because people sometimes have to repeat things up to three times before they finally catch my attention. However I do want to be done with farming sooner rather than later so I’ll take the zoning out for what it is and hope to be done as soon as I possibly can be done.

For now I’ll leave you with my current situation:

  • Ileana (Shaman): 222 Enchanting/185 Inscription
  • Sandrina (Mage): 278 Enchanting/50 Jewelcrafting
  • Hyourinmaru (Rogue): 430 Engineering

I hope to get atleast 3 of these professions to 450 before Cataclysm comes out. When I do, I’ll update my blog!

Posted October 25, 2010 by Kassandri in Mage, Professions, Rogue, Shaman

Leave a Reply

