An Achievement Whore, I Am!   Leave a comment

I have to admit, more than I like PvPing, more than I like raiding (as far as I do) and more than I like making money, I love achievement farming. It’s probably the gadget that makes WoW the most interesting to me. It gives something extra to battlegrounds, it gives perks to raiding and it gives rewards to spend your gold on!

Some achievements are easy, some require hard work and some are just impossible to obtain without proper help or a really good arena team/battleground group/raiding guild. Try to down Lich King on 25 man heroic style with a PuG, hardly possible to be honest. The easy achievements are the ones like level achievements, the first few rep achievements and the random loot such and such. Those aren’t the ones that make my day, even tho I still get a smile on my face when I see the golden screen appear on the bottom of my screen, announcing that I earned the achievement such and such.
No the achievements I really love, are the achievements that require an effort of some sort. May it be kill all rares in Outland, do 3000 quests, buy a 16k gold mount or do all achievements in a Battleground, completing them gives me a sense of accomplishment, more than downing a new boss in a raid.

Some of the hardest achievements I’ve earned so far are Loremaster, Mountain ‘o Mounts, the Seeker (3000 quests) and Glory of the Hero. So much time has been put into them that when I obtained the achievement it felt like one of the biggest accomplishments my character has earned ingame. Other achievements I hold dear are my Feats of Strenght I have obtained, and then especially the rare mounts. They are nice to show off plus most of them take a lot of time and effort and being determined to keep on farming for them. I’m currently on 41 Baron Rivendare kills without seeing the stratholme mount and about 3 months of Zul’Gurub running and not seeing the Raptor mount. Give up? Never, I’ll keep farming untill I obtain the mounts. Same goes for fishing for the Sea Turtle. I’ll keep on fishing, untill the damn thing finally takes a nibble on my fishing hook.

Now lately I ran out of ideas for achievements. I got some on my list “what to do before Cata” but since I am unable to focus my attention on one thing for ages and ages I like to do more achievements at once. Now a solution to that problem I found on the official European WoW forums. There is this lovely topic where you can let someone else pick an achievement for you to do. It’s a nice change from deciding what to do next yourself, and they can pick quite surprising ones. My assignment was: Buy all the stuff you can with your gold under the General Achievement tab. When I got that achievement I didn’t have the Haris Pilton bag, the Kirin Tor ring or the Traveler’s Tundra Mammoth. As you can imagine I got my work cut out for me. I obtained the Haris Pilton bag that costed me 1200 gold and now I “only” need to get 16k gold for the Mammoth and another 6.8k for the ring. Which brings the total to 24k gold. I’m not that good with making money so it’ll take me a while to get those achievements, but I will try my best to do them. And then I’ll ask for a new one!

Atleast all of it is keeping me busy and away from boredom. I’m currently on 8300 achievement points on my warrior and hope to obtain 9000 before Cataclysm hits. We’ll see how far I’ll get. Untill then I will keep you informed of the how’s and when’s.
Greetings from an Achievement Horny Troll.

Posted June 19, 2010 by Kassandri in Achievements

Leave a Reply

